Shutt Velo Rapide Facebook
  • March 7th, 2013

    Squadra Donne’s Jenni Celebrates 6th Place – 7th March ’13

    by Jenni Lake

    Saturday 2nd March at the Cyclopark in Kent – my first race of the season for Squadra Donne Shutt VR.  It’s a great circuit there, some technical bends along with some nice sweeping ones and an incline one end and a drag up to the finish line.  It was actually quite a nice day, chilly but dry and the sun came out half way through the race which was nice!

    I hadn’t raced for a bit and life had been a bit all over the place lately so I decided it was time to see how my race legs (and head) were.  It turns out they were ok!  There was a great turnout for an early season women’s race with 24 of us (is this a sign for good things to come and more women getting into racing?… I hope so).  It was actually quite a steady race with no serious breakaway attempts. I felt quite comfortable for most of it, the few people who tried to make breaks or go off the front were really left hanging out there with everyone else just staying tucked in, so that’s what I decided I would do too. Knowing then it would really be down to a pack sprint finish, I spent the last 2 laps trying to make sure I kept a good position.  I think I had slightly too high a gear for the sprint but I got past a fair few people and came in 6th which I was pleased with, as some of the other girls looked very comfortable all the way through and strong at the end. Some points for the new team and a good start to the season, can’t wait to do some more and to race with my great new team mates!

    Confirmed Results

    Race name: 3/4 Women
    Position    Name    Club name
    1    Miss Cassie McGoldrick    PMR@Toachim House
    2    Mrs Sarah Connell    Brixton Cycles
    3    Miss Nikki Engelbach    Les Filles Racing Team
    4    Ms Bella Leach    London Phoenix CC
    5    Miss Louise Fellingham    London Dynamo
    6    Miss Jennifer Lake    Squadra Donne – Shutt VR
    7    Ms Michelle Forster    London Phoenix CC
    8    Miss Claire Richardson    London Dynamo
    9    Ms Lisa-Jane Leonard
    10    Mrs Kerry Bircher    Cranleigh Cycling Club
    11    Mrs Holly Seear    Twickenham CC
    12    Miss Rebecca Carter    Goscomb – BSR
    13    Mrs Michelle Sellars    Goscomb – BSR
    14    Mrs Sally Smith    PMR@Toachim House
    15    Ms Julia Smith    Twickenham CC
    16    Miss Lesley Pinder    Dulwich Paragon CC
    17    Miss Anna Stedman    Charlotteville CC
    18    Miss Kary Greer    Kent Velo Girls CC
    19    Miss Sherilyn Powell    Chelmer CC
    20    Miss Laura Cheesman    Prestige Velo Club
    21    Miss Rachel Fleming    Redhill CC
    22    Miss Lois May-Miller    Team ASL360
    23    Mrs Belinda Gregorie    Kent Velo Girls CC
    24    Mrs Lucy Francis    London Dynamo

    Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.